<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><!-- generator="wordpress/2.0.2" -->
<rss version="2.0" 
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/">
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: MSRBOT</title>
	<link>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/</link>
	<description>Technology, Startups, Internet Marketing</description>
	<pubDate>Tue, 22 May 2012 05:39:18 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.0.2</generator>

	<item>
		<title>by: Freesitebuilder</title>
		<link>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-41512</link>
		<pubDate>Thu, 22 Mar 2007 14:06:21 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-41512</guid>
					<description>I've had this too, using 209.133.64.213, but it shows the referrer as http://blogger.com 

The whois gave me this:

  Search results for: 209.133.64.213


    OrgName:    Abovenet Communications, Inc 
    OrgID:      ABVE
    Address:    360 Hamilton Ave
    City:       White Plains
    StateProv:  NY
    PostalCode: 10601
    Country:    US

    ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.above.net:4321

   So if it is the MS research bot, why does it say Blogger?</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ve had this too, using 209.133.64.213, but it shows the referrer as <a href='http://blogger.com' rel='nofollow'>http://blogger.com</a> </p>
<p>The whois gave me this:</p>
<p>  Search results for: 209.133.64.213</p>
<p>    OrgName:    Abovenet Communications, Inc<br />
    OrgID:      ABVE<br />
    Address:    360 Hamilton Ave<br />
    City:       White Plains<br />
    StateProv:  NY<br />
    PostalCode: 10601<br />
    Country:    US</p>
<p>    ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.above.net:4321</p>
<p>   So if it is the MS research bot, why does it say Blogger?
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: Michael Hampton</title>
		<link>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24752</link>
		<pubDate>Tue, 19 Sep 2006 13:16:48 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24752</guid>
					<description>The research group running &quot;MSRBOT&quot; is apparently based in Silicon Valley, rather than Redmond...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The research group running &#8220;MSRBOT&#8221; is apparently based in Silicon Valley, rather than Redmond&#8230;
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: James</title>
		<link>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24570</link>
		<pubDate>Sun, 03 Sep 2006 11:43:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24570</guid>
					<description>I also got a total crawl from MSRBOT at 209.133.64.221. It was preceded by a short look at robots.txt by &quot;msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)&quot; so it may be legit though I can not see why they are using a block of addresses out of San Jose. The msnbot crawls my site regularly as it is. I am inclined to block this one until they cough up a good reason for the additional bandwidth they are taking. I have had a few that were resistant to a robots.txt ban and had to be blocked at the firewall. MSNBOT has not always been a good netizen either.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I also got a total crawl from MSRBOT at 209.133.64.221. It was preceded by a short look at robots.txt by &#8220;msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)&#8221; so it may be legit though I can not see why they are using a block of addresses out of San Jose. The msnbot crawls my site regularly as it is. I am inclined to block this one until they cough up a good reason for the additional bandwidth they are taking. I have had a few that were resistant to a robots.txt ban and had to be blocked at the firewall. MSNBOT has not always been a good netizen either.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: joy</title>
		<link>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24561</link>
		<pubDate>Sat, 02 Sep 2006 16:29:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24561</guid>
					<description>I don't believe it's Microsoft running this particular bot.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I don&#8217;t believe it&#8217;s Microsoft running this particular bot.
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
	<item>
		<title>by: bruce</title>
		<link>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24549</link>
		<pubDate>Thu, 31 Aug 2006 22:23:09 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://cleverhack.com/2006/08/29/msrbot/#comment-24549</guid>
					<description>A bot identified as 'MSRBOT' has been hammering my site from the 209.133. range.  I can't imagine that it's legitimately from Microsoft, unless they are conducting research from San Jose...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>A bot identified as &#8216;MSRBOT&#8217; has been hammering my site from the 209.133. range.  I can&#8217;t imagine that it&#8217;s legitimately from Microsoft, unless they are conducting research from San Jose&#8230;
</p>
]]></content:encoded>
				</item>
</channel>
</rss>

